Our Governing Body

The composition of the Governing Body of twelve members is as follows:

The Headteacher
Two Parent governors
One Staff governor
One Local Authority Governor
Seven Co-opted Governors  

The following people are serving governors:
Diane Wolstenholme (Headteacher)
Margaret Blowey (Chair)
Joan Holt (Vice Chair)
Ralph Moses, (Local Authority Governor)
Kevin O’Brien, Alan Scott , Samaneh Maysami, Sarah Bradley (Co-opted Governors we currently have one vacancy)
Gem Yabsley (Staff Governor)
(Parent Governor we currently have two vacancies),


The term of office is for four years, with the provision for re-election.

The Governors meet as a full governing body each term and there are two sub committees who meet each term also:

Teaching and Learning

The details of the individual governors
Headteacher, Diane Wolstenholme, was appointed as Headteacher in 2013, following being Deputy Headteacher at Ashgate School. Diane serves on both committees.

Ralph MosesLocal Authority Governor is a retired  Manchester secondary school teacher. He was on the Education Committee as a Secondary Teachers' representative, elected by secondary teachers and co-opted by the committee. Ralph’s current term of office lasts until 31/12/2025. Ralph serves on  both Committees.  

Margaret Blowey, Co-opted  Governor, is Chair of Governors and is on the Resources Committee. Her current term of office lasts until 03/12/2022.  A former secondary school history teacher, Margaret is retired from a career in education with the major school examination and awarding bodies, and latterly was Clerk to the Governing Body at FE Colleges in the North West. She was formerly a Governor at Manor High School in Sale, and Flixton Junior School.

Joan Holt, Co-opted Governor ,  and Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee. Joan is a former primary school Headteacher whose current term of office expires on 03/12/2022.  Joan is also a Governor at Piper Hill School.

Kevin O’Brien, Co-opted Governor, is the chair of the Resources Committee. Kevin is Professor of Orthodontics and Director of The Healing Foundation Cleft and Craniofacial Clinical Research Centre. Kevin’s term of office will expire on 02/03/2023.

Alan Scott, Co-opted Governor, is a former secondary Headteacher in Bury LEA. Alan serves on both committees and his current term of office will expire on 03/12/2022. Alan is also Chair of Governors at Burnage Academy for Boys.

Samaneh MaysamiCo-opted Governor, is a member of the Teaching and Learning Committee. Samaneh is a member of the Teaching and Learning Committee. Samaneh is postdoctoral Research Associate at Manchester University. Samaneh’s term of office will expire on 02/12/2023.

Gem Yabsley, Staff Governor, is a Teaching Assistant at Ashgate School. Gem is a member of the Teaching and Learning Committee and her term of office will expire on 18/03/2023.

Sarah Bradley, Associate Governor is a coopted governor and is a member of the Teaching and Learning Committee. Her term of office will expire on 18/06/2022

Files to Download

Ashgate Specialist Support School, Crossacres Rd, Wythenshawe, Manchester M22 5DR

Main Contact: Debbie O'BrienTel: 0161 359 5322Email: enquiries@ashgate.manchester.sch.uk.

Student Login